Beckett’s Table

It’s taken a while, and the rest of our rout had gone to Beckett’s Table without me, but I finally made it there this week. Fantastic food. It’s pork, what’s not to love?

20130625-114843.jpg

I started with the Flinn’s Dilemma, partially because in my head I saw the sign on the arcade from Tron (yeah, I’m showing my neediness), but mostly because I like whiskey. It’s Jameson & Bushmills with muddled mint, lemonade and a sugared rim. Honestly one of the best drinks I’ve had in a long time. The only thing close to it is the Lavender Lemon Fizz at Salut (I’ll get to a review of that place eventually), but honestly it doesn’t need the sugared rim. I love whiskey and lemonade to begin with, but the sugared rim makes it too much like a mojito. But it doesn’t really matter because its in a tall glass with a small mouth, so the sugar doesn’t last long anyway.

20130625-115524.jpg

The appetizers. My God, the appetizers! Pancetta Mac N Cheese was phenomenal. Perfect balance of pasta and cheese with crispy pancetta.

20130625-115634.jpg

And a surprise: deep fried reviled eggs. Not a clue how you manage to bread a hard boiled egg with filling and fry it without it becoming a ball of liquid egg-goo, but that’s why I’m not running this place. It was paired with a hot sauce aioli that I could honestly take or leave. Not because it wasn’t good, but because the egg was that good with or without it.

20130625-115819.jpg

My highlight of the night…pork osso bucco with bacon spinach spaetzel. I wondered why I had a butter knife and a fork and not anything more substantial to carve this thing. Then I stuck my fork in and the osso bucco disintegrated. I tried to move the pork by the bone…not happening. The bone came out like it had never even been attached to anything. The spinach spaetzel was good, but the bacon was the highlight of that side. What made the spaetzel better was the juice from the osso bucco that asked into it.

20130625-120149.jpg

Finally, my birthday dessert (it was my birthday dinner). A deconstructed s’more with chocolate covered bacon, peanut butter ice cream and drizzled in caramel. PERFECT. I wanted more bacon. In fact, I would have been happy with a plate of just chocolate covered bacon! But the marshmallow was perfect, the peanut butter ice cream was totally unexpected but great in a s’more.

So, Beckett…damn good food. Serve me pork and you’ve got a customer for life!

Leave a comment