Phx Public Market

Full disclosure: I didn’t want to go to Phoenix Public Market. I wanted to go to Food Truck Friday in their parking lot today.

Man, I’m glad we skipped the trucks cuz this place is awesome.

Having never been there we were a little confused as to what to get. Some things looked good, but I wasn’t in the mood for a mostly veggie sandwich and (for once) I wanted something other than pulled pork. Thankfully, we were strafed towards one of the best sandwiches EVER.

20130809-150628.jpg

No, I don’t know exactly what it is. Or what it’s called. Our waiter said it was the Special Sandwich. He said it was a house-made ciabatta roll with rotisserie bacon-wrapped pork…and I told him to stop talking and make the sandwich. So I honestly can’t give a co posts description but I do know there was arugula, olive oil, bacon wrapped pork and a delicious aioli that had a Dijon flavor with a spicy kick to it. And it was PHENOMENAL. First their bread is epic. Chewy, crunchy…it sucked up oil and pork dripping like a delicious bread sponge.

Tina got the chicken salad sandwich. Now, I though I made a pretty good chicken salad. I made it yesterday…took it for lunch. Chicken, sesame oil, mayo, hot and sweet mustard, mandarin oranges. This made that look like pig slop. I only got a bite.

20130809-151140.jpg

Dessert…chocolate stout cake. Think chocolate fudge cake, then add the taste of Guinness. And just for fun, throw in some of the tiniest chocolate malt balls ever on top of the frosting.

20130809-151326.jpg

So here’s my warning to you, Phoenix Public Market: lock up that damn cake, cuz I want the rest of it. And unless you want me stopping by every day, stop cooking that pork with bacon. And the chicken salad.

Screw it, I’m coming back no matter what.

Leave a comment